The member photo gallery is now integrated and live!!  All user albums and pictures have been ported from old gallery.

To register send an e-mail to admin@bmwr65.org and provide your location and desired user name.

Author Topic: "New" bike  (Read 1564 times)

Offline Kelvin

• R65LS
"New" bike
« on: October 08, 2019, 02:41:52 AM »
G'day,

I've been lurking here for some time, I didn't put up an initial post because I was unsure of where to put it.

However, I recently picked up a second bike so perhaps now is a good time to introduce myself?

I rode an R65LS in the 1980s when I was a uni student. Financial constraints required that I do all the work on it myself. Although I had a number of other bikes after that I was looking for a bike in 1996 and found one identical to the one I'd sold in 1988. Recently I found another, slightly newer, bike, this one with 135k km on the clock and many of the mods necessary for bikes of this age (SS pipes, SS brake lines...) and what I thought was a reasonable price (AUD 6,100). I've just gone though the process of getting it from Melbourne to Sydney and fixing a few minor issues.

It had a major issue with carburetion, not functioning properly above 4k revs and not at all above 5k (but beautifully below 4k). As is usual I was able to fix this with considerable help from the historic threads on this forum: many thanks for this!

Both bikes are on historic (club) rego, so I get 60 ride days per year. This is two rides per week with the pair of bikes. They're running with only minor differences at present. I live in NW Sydney, so fairly regularly ride north up the old Pacific Highway and west to the Putty Road.

Cheers,

Kelvin

1983 R65LS 1985 to 1988
1983 R65LS 1996 to present.
1984 R65LS 2019 to present.

Offline skippyc

• Lives in Foothills of Mt. Olympus
  • Shouldn't have sold them old bikes.
Re: "New" bike
« Reply #1 on: October 08, 2019, 05:26:53 PM »
Nice looking bikes Twin, twins

Offline ged in oz

• I Love YaBB 2!